Sometimes they die

Posted: July 14, 2010 in medical, Poem
Tags: , , , ,

I’m already going to lose you,                                                                                                           I don’t even know your name .                                                                                                        In a world of flashing lights,                                                                                                           the sound of glass and steel breaking free,                                                                                     or those few minutes,                                                                                                                      you belonged only to me

It was I who cut your shirt away                                                                                                   To see your broken ribs                                                                                                            Watching you labour with each breath                                                                                        As you fought to live

It was I wholwiped the blood away                                                                                           When it pooled in your eyes                                                                                                            It was I who watched your heart beat                                                                                         As the jaws freed you from your car

And when we finally freed you                                                                                                            I was still there as we ran to the back of the ambulance

It was I who held your hand                                                                                                        The sounds of the sirens rang loudly in my ears                                                                            I looked for some small sign

Your lack of response renewed my fears

I breathed for you when you could not                                                                                            I compressed your chest when your heart wouldn’t beat

I prayed for you with each failure                                                                                                    I did not want to see defeat                                                                                                              I finally had to walk away                                                                                                      Knowing the battle had been lost

I saw your father in the hallway                                                                                                 One look and I saw the awful cost                                                                                                    I gathered my equipment together                                                                                            And I finally learned your name

Only 21, I said, beneath my breath

My friends, I feel so drained                                                                                                       Your blood alcohol came back zero                                                                                           The driver of the other car did not

He was alive and breathing                                                                                                            No witness to the battle we fought                                                                                                  I don’t know how to say good bye cause we never really said hello

But a piece of you is with me everywhere I go

Comments
  1. Peter Wright says:

    Powerful and painful to read…but very poignant.

  2. Gina says:

    Wow….
    I take my hat off to you!
    What strength you have!

  3. Kathy says:

    This should be posted in every pub and liquor store!!!! but will it hit home to some????

  4. slpmartin says:

    Even as I started reading this I knew and could feel the power in the poem…it has such a powerful message in it….and I would agree…everyone in a pub or bar should read this before they head home….An excellent poem!!!!!

  5. Celia says:

    You had me in tears, as all truly good art should. It’s breathtaking… thank you!

  6. Oh Carl, this is so powerful. Great stuff. (Saw the link @ Jenty’s Facebook)

  7. Ange says:

    You give me goosebumps … So powerful, poignant and sad

  8. Edwin says:

    Wow! powerful, moving and somber…

  9. […] brother Carl (of the medical poetry fame) taking his nut very seriously Terry who is visiting from Columbia at the moment Bacon wrapped […]

  10. […] Sometimes they die July 2010 10 comments 5 […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.