I swear I didn’t drink

Posted: July 26, 2010 in medical, Poem
Tags: , , , ,

I swear I didn’t drink tonight, daddy, I remembered what you said                                    You told me not to drink and drive, so I drank soda instead.

I feel real proud inside, daddy, the way you said I would,                                                           I feel responsible daddy, despite the others said I should.

they tried to get me to drink daddy, but I kept my head real cool,                                           I told them I need to drive home tonight, and I’m not a fool

And as I drove down the road, daddy, I forgot to do one thing                                              my seat belt is what I didn’t put on, tonight I wasn’t thinking

I didn’t see the other car, daddy, so fast down the road he was coming                                   he just came out in front of me, and sent me flipping and rolling

As I lay there on the pavement, daddy, I hear the medic say                                                    the other guy has been drinking and now I’m the one who will pay.

I should have worn my seatbelt daddy, then it wouldn’t be so bad,                                          and I didn’t even drink tonight, that makes it oh so sad.

There is blood all around me, daddy, and all of it is mine,                                                           I hear all the people saying that I’ll die in a short time.

The guy who hit me is walking, daddy, and I don’t think it’s fair,                                             I’m lying here dying and all he can do is stare.

The pain is excruciating daddy, I can hardly bear it,                                                                 and the ventilator is breathing for me, because my body cannot.

Its getting dark now daddy, i think its getting time,                                                                    I should have worn that seatbelt, and then all would be fine.

Tell my mom I love her, daddy, Tell gran to be brave, And when I go to heaven, put “Daddy’s Girl” on my grave.

The pain in no longer there, daddy, I feel so surreal,                                                                   the machines have stopped breathing for me, I have now made a deal

With the angel that stands beside me, daddy, to take me to my new home,                               Goodbye my friends and family, these 24 years have flown.

This is a mistakenly adaption of a poem i must’ve read years ago, which had stuck in my head. As i wrote it, the words flowed in a lot easier than the previous one, which is probably why. I only realized after I had posted it.  shows you how some stuff can just stick into your head. I was writing about a young lady who did not see the end of  Friday night.

Leave a Reply

