memories of a Brother and father

Posted: October 29, 2011 in Family, Masonic, Photography, Uncategorized

This weekend we came to Lakeland, at the Hartebeesport dam for a bit of R &R, golfing, boating, just all round relaxing. N’s family has a place down here, a beautiful tranquel setting, perfect to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and work.

After Jeanette posted her blog about Kathy’s brave fight with breast cancer http://www.jeanetteverster.com/2011/10/kathys-breast-cancer-scar/, I was sitting looking at the dam, and it reminded me of a time we came here in December 2006. Early Christmas morning, I woke up at 04h30, in order to set up my tripod and camera at the dam, and wait for sunrise.  As I came out my room, I saw my father-in-law, sitting outside in the dark. He said he couldn’t sleep, and wanted to come with me to talk. So we walked down to the dam’s edge, set up, and sat on the grass bank and chatted.

You see, I had a very special relationship with my father-in-law, as he wasn’t just that to me. He was also my Brother.

He proposed me into Freemasonry, he brought me into the Fraternity I have grown to love and thrive in. He held my arm in the distinctive Masonic grip, and led me into the Lodge at my initiation, and blindfolded, he was by my side as I took my obligation, and removed the blindfold for me to see as he taught me about the great and emblematical Lights in Freemasonry.

We sat and spoke about Masonry, how much it meant to him, his aspirations to grow and learn in the Craft, and my future in the fraternity, and where I wanted to go with it. And as the sun rose, I took a picture, which to this day, hangs on the wall in my lounge. This very picture, I gave to my Brother when he could no longer get out of bed, the cancer having finally taken its toil. Every time I look at it, I remember his fight, his will to survive, his determination to see his first granddaughter born, his corny jokes, his love for animals and his family, and his passion for a Fraternity that embraced him as a man, as a father, as a husband, as a MASON.

25 December  2006 sunrise

Every time I visit a Masonic Lodge on the East Rand of Johannesburg, I hear tales of a Masonic Brother, a vet from from the area, who was always the life of the festive board, with his jokes and care free attitude. He resides now in the Grand Lodge in the sky, and I’m sure he is constantly keeping The Great Architect of the Universe entertained with his wit.

I returned from Cape Town this week, having been there on business, and I had the brief opportunity to visit Kathy, and I was so impressed with her optimism, and FIGHT.

Kathy, you are truly an amazing woman, taken this breast cancer head on and refusing to back down. I’m so proud of you!

Comments
  1. Jeanette says:

    That’s a beautiful image Carl. He was an amazing man

  2. I wonderful tribute to a very special man – beautiful my boy. It is such a lovely photo – calm and peaceful

  3. Kathy says:

    I only saw this today. This is such a beautiful photo. I never knew your father in law but through you I now have had the opportunity to meet him. His fight with cancer must have been a very tough battle and he fought so bravely. Thank you for your words, and I salute you for all that you have done as a paramedic no one will ever know what you have had to face each day.

Leave a Reply

