Golfing at Princes Grant

Posted: April 17, 2012 in Family, golf
Tags: ,

Being on holiday, there is one thing i cannot go without…. GOLF! so I had a choice of a number of courses, and decided to choose the one I’ve been dying to play.

Princes Grant.

image

Designed by  Peter Matkovich, Princes Grant opened in 1994 and has earned a reputation for excellence, including the Compleat Golfer 5-Star Golf Experience Award. And I can see why, wow, what an amazing experience playing here. From the undulating fairways set up as a links course, in emaculate condition to the perfect fast and true greens, set on multi-layers.
Lots of water holes, tricky par fours and risk and reward par 5’s.

image

The signature hole, the 15th, is a par 5 with undoubtably the best view any course can have. Teeing off the side of a cliff, the fairway stretching far below. The view is breathtaking, and my partner (our friend from Australia) and I take a moment to absorb all around us.

image

I have had the opportunity to play on many courses around South Africa, and while I havent as yet been to many of our great ones, make no mistake, Princes Grant is no walk in the park. This well used course by the Sunshine Tour astounded me. The friendly reception, great food, fantastic views, the carpet like fairways and smooth but testing greens, I can honestly say I have found my favorite course.

Comments
  1. Awesome – glad you had the opportunity to play on the course !

Leave a Reply

