A week of agony…and a hospital experience

Posted: April 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

I travelled to Durban this week on business, with a full schedule to get through. With a successful Monday done and dusted,I went to bed, my mind still going through the things that needed to be achieved the following day.

I woke up at 2 am with the most agonizing pain in my back I have ever experienced. So off the the hospital I went, and was admitted for kidney stones!!!

Kidney stones are a crystal formation of calcium in the urinary tract, commonly caused by low fluid intake and high protein diet… So yes, its my fault for not drinking water, and yes mom, I shouldve listened to you!!

image

A CT scan showed the little evil impediment in the ureta. With drugs becoming my best friend managing the debilitating pain, I stayed the whole week in hospital, and eventually flew back to JHB, with my uninvited guest still hitching a ride!!!

This present from the devil (must be due to the amount of pain) still inside, with the chances of being re- admitted into hospital gowing by the minute, I pray it will dislodge and make its way out.

The main purpose of this blog, is the treatment I experienced. I was admitted into the surgical ward at Netcare Umhlanga Hospital, now, after working for a hospital for 4 years, and having brought thousands of patients into hospitals during my operational years, I was dreading the idea of being admitted.

As it turned out, I had nothing to fear. The casualty staff attended to me immediately, having diagnosed as I stumbled into the reception. The urologist, informing me the entire time of what was happening, showing me the scans and explaining in great detail the pro’s and cons of various forms of treatment. Which is the reason the little bugger is still on board, as it is small and in the ureta, it will pass…. Just hoping it wont take too long!!

The nursing staff at surgical ward 1 were fantastic. The kept me as comfortable as possible, never withheld God’s inspired analgaesic creations. They were friendly, even during the early morning times of severe grumpiness caused by the little bastard.

The student nurses need a special mention. Now the idea of being treated by students normally would terrify me. Why?, cause I was one once upon a time, and…. Well…. Lets leave it there!!

These ladies showed a passion surpassing the usual dedication from the nursing fraternity, with friendly smiles and sincere caring, willing to help with the smallest requests to the largest demands made by fellow patients, and yes, myself..

The management at Netcare 911 KZN, went out of their way to help out. This was unexpected and sincerely appreciated, showing a different level of caring, away from the usual hustle and bustle of emergency medical care.

My three friends who helped out enormously, THANK YOU!!!!!!!

So, that being said and done, all I can say is this… DRINK LOTS OF WATER, or you will receive a very, very painful guest!!!!!!!

Comments
  1. Jeanette says:

    Glad you’re home 🙂

  2. Avril (Mom) says:

    Keep drinking 🙂

Leave a Reply

