Happy Father’s Day dad….

Posted: June 15, 2014 in Family
Tags: ,

When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much he had learned in seven years.

When I saw this quote by Mark Twain I just smiled and thought…. Yes !! I’m sure many a son and daughter would say the same, but my relationship with my dad has sure had its ups and downs…

When I was growing up….yes yes, I know I still am……I never appreciated him or his advice. Normal for a teenager, probably, but my stubborn ways and pride always got in the way and this extended to my latter years.

Being a father now, I’ve often sat back and thought of myself in my pre-teen and early teens and wow…I’m surprised he never shipped me off to some faraway prison island, for the amount of uphill I gave him and my mom. Simply put… I was a seriously naughty shit !!!!!… And one thing I never saw, because of my blindness, was how my dad always stuck by me no matter what.

He pulled serious strings to keep my out of jail (for a very stupid thing I did which would have had me locked up for my remaining teen years and even more after that) and I’m pretty sure there was a whole lot more which I don’t know about…

And looking back now, as I slowly progress to my 40’s, I miss the times we did spend together, alone… The trips to Tshukudu Private Game Reserve him and I went on when I was a young boy. Those trips were awesome, and I remember the incredible bonding we had whilst outdoors in the bush,while he taught me about the wild animals, the leopard that circled our camp site at night, the elephant footprints we followed and the first time I had warthog stew !!!

Dad taught me how to play squash, a game I loved and excelled in, thanks to his patience and coaching. He even took the time to coach our high school 1st team when I captained it.

Dad and I are the same, both very hard headed, stubborn and emotionless… These I have started to ease up on after all my years seeing misery and death on the road, and have finally opened my eyes to what a great father I really have.
One who has stood by me through thick and thin,one who never stopped me doing things even when he knew it was a bad decision (the safe ones of course) and never said “I told you so” after I failed.

Dad, I don’t know if I’ve even ever said this, but I love you, and thank you for being the greatest father any son could ever have, and I hope I can raise my daughter with the same ethics you have raised us with.

Happy Father’s Day !!!

Comments
  1. Thank you so much for this amazing heart-warming message my boy. You are a very special person, a son I am extremely proud of, the person I always hoped you would be. To see you raising Erin, my beautiful granddaughter, and the importantly the close bond you have with her, shows that you are now a fantastic father who has the patience and caring nature that all fathers should have.
    Happy father’s day to you my boy.
    Love Dad.
    PS Maybe we should do another father son getaway again in the not too distant future.

Leave a Reply

